Lorde @ Rookie

Eu acho a Rookie simplesmente incrível e que dóóó de não ter tido isso durante a minha adolescência.

Agora saiu uma entrevista super legal que a Tavi fez com a Lorde (Ella é o nome de verdade, sabiam? I had no clue) e ficou demais! Eu fiquei com a mesma sensação que eu tinha assistindo Gilmore Girls que é, basicamente, a de ser a criatura mais ignorante do mundo, hahaha. Essas meninas são muito bem informadas :).

tavi

Check it out (Tavi em negrito):

I know that you identify as a feminist. How did you discover feminism, and what does it mean to you?

I think I’m speaking for a bunch of girls when I say that the idea that feminism is completely natural and shouldn’t even be something that people find mildly surprising. It’s just a part of being a girl in 2013. That kind of normal, non-scary, chill vibe that you had with it, and that Rookie had, was really encouraging when I was like 14. Even now, I find a lot of feminist reading quite confusing and that often there’s a set of rules, and people will be like, “Oh, this person isn’t a true feminist because they don’t embody this one thing,” and I don’t know, often there is a lot of gray area tha can be hard to navigate. It’s just something that I’d assumed was natural for a long time. It’s not some crazy kind of alien concept to me. Did you ever have that problem of getting into feminist writings and then feeling confused about all the ways people’s opinions differed and all of the weird rulebooks and you’re like, What?

Oh, yeah. Ultimately, I think we are all here for the same reason. I think it’s so personal, though, for each person who identifies as a feminist, and it can be related to the hardest shit that they’ve had to put up with in their lives and all of these different ways in which they’ve been oppressed and marginalized. It can be so delicate and hard to navigate that sometimes I just feel like, “I never want to write about this again, because how can you ever know enough?”

Totally.

“How can you ever have read enough to be able to talk about this in the right way?” What I’ve learned is that the answer isn’t to retreat into ignorance, but to find the ways in which it’s important to you and talk about that and help other women talk about their experiences too. Just finding the human part of it is what I find myself coming back to when I feel disillusioned with feminism as a community. It’s complicated. Ultimately, I’m a feminist, yes, but I certainly have moments where it has to feel like something that is mine, and…

And not something that a hundred different people can define in exactly the same way.

1388647983Lorde-Illo-by-Minna-580x757

A entrevista é gigante, mas é suuuper legal, especialmente por ser feita por uma menina da mesma idade que a Lorde. Vale a leitura de todas as páginas!

Deixe uma Resposta

