The perks of being a wallflower, lido!

Ontem eu acabei o The Perks of Being a Wallflower, do Stephen Chbosky. Comecei a ler na noite de terça-feira e acabei na noite de quarta, não conseguia parar de ler! O livro é sweet and moving, como o narrador, Charlie. Eu queria colocar umas partes aqui, mas sem spoilers e tal, então selecionei essas, que não comprometem a história,  mas transmitem bem o tom do livro, I guess :)

“And all the books you’ve read have been read by other people. And all the songs you love have been heard by other people. And that girl that’s pretty to you is pretty to other people. And you know that if you looked at these facts when you were unhappy, you would feel great, because you’re describing “unity.” It’s like when you are excited about a girl and you see a couple holding hands, and you feel so happy for them. And other times you see the same couple, and they make you so mad. And all you want is to always feel happy for them because you know that if you do, then it means that you’re happy, too.”

“There was this one part where the main character, who is this architect, is sitting on a boat with his best firend, who is a newspaper tycoon. And the newspaper tycoon says that the architect is a very cold man. The architect replies that if the boat were sinking, and there was only room in the lifeboat for one person, he would gladly give up his life for the newspaper tycoon. And then he says something like this… ‘I would die for you. But I won’t live for you.’ Something like that. I think the idea is that every person has to live for his own life and then make the choice to share it with other people. Maybe that is what makes people “participate.” I’m not really certain. Because I don’t know if I would mind living for Sam for a while. Then again, she wouldn’t want me to, so maybe it’s a lot friendlier than all that. I hope so anyway.”

Eu acho a adolescência uma parte esquisita da vida e acho que mesmo depois que ela passa, ela fica secretamente guardadinha dentro da gente pra sempre. A Julia adolescente se identificou incrivelmente com o livro :)

Se vocês quiserem ler, eu comprei aqui e chegou bem rapidinho!

ps: Ele fala de músicas e livros incríveis ao longo da história, eu estou quase fazendo uma listinha! Já li alguns, mas ainda falta a maioria.

3 thoughts on “The perks of being a wallflower, lido!

Deixe uma Resposta

